Special Presentation: Konrad Banaszek

    Friday, February 15, 2019 - 9:00am
    Franken Conference Room (Meinel 821)

    Quantum fingerprinting allows two remote parties to determine whether their datasets are identical or different by transmitting exponentially less information compared to the classical protocol with equivalent performance. Standard optical implementations of quantum fingerprinting based on coherent states of light require phase stability between the sending parties. Here we present a quantum fingerprinting protocol which exploits higher-order optical interference between optical signals with a random global phase. Its performance has been verified in a proof-of-principle experiment discriminating between binary visibility hypotheses. Actual demonstration of quantum advantage over the known bound on the performance of classical fingerprinting protocols should be possible using currently available technology.

    Speaker Bio(s): 

    Prof. Konrad Banaszek is currently the director of the Centre of Quantum Optical Technologies funded by the International Research Agenda Programme operated by the Foundation for Polish Science and  hosted by the Centre of New Technologies, University of Warsaw. After receiving a PhD degree from the Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw in 2000 he held postdoctoral fellowships at the University of Rochester (USA) and the University of Oxford (United Kingdom) followed by faculty appointments at the Nicolaus Copernicus University in Torun, Poland and the University of Warsaw. He is an author or a co-author of over 100 scientific articles dealing with various aspects of quantum technologies. Over the last decade he coordinated three projects funded by the 7th Framework Programme of the European Union and he realized two TEAM projects supported by the Foundation for Polish Science. In addition to his academic appointment at the University of Warsaw he also serves as the scientific coordinator of the QuantERA funding initiative, which groups 32 grant agencies from 26 countries and is coordinated by National Science Centre Poland.