Breault, Ph.D. 1979, and Rolland, Ph.D. 1990, Win Major OSA Awards

    Date Posted: 
    Thursday, March 27, 2014

    The Optical Society (OSA) has announced the recipients of its 2014 awards, and two of the college's superlative alumni were on its list.

    Robert P. Breault, Ph.D. 1979, was honored with the Robert E. Hopkins Leadership Award for "pioneering leadership in the formation of global optics industry clusters." Breault is the president and founder of Industrial Affliates member company Breault Research Organization and chair of the Arizona Optics Industry Association. (For an opportunity to sit in on an upcoming BRO software tutorial for free, please see "Seats Remain ...")

    Jannick P. Rolland, who received her doctoral degree from OSC in 1990, was awarded the David Richardson Medal for her contributions to optical engineering, particularly "visionary contributions and leadership in optical design and engineering, enabling noninvasive, optical biopsy." She joins such luminaries as Roland V. Shack (2003); Chungte W. "Bill" Chen, Ph.D. 1978 (2004); and Kenneth E. Moore, Ph.D. 1991 (2010) as winners.