Celebrating Our Scholars

    Date Posted: 
    Monday, September 9, 2013

    Thanks to a group of very generous donors, the College of Optical Sciences is able to offer a number of scholarships and fellowships to support its students in their educational endeavours. We acknowledged these students, and their benefactors, in a special ceremony last May:

    Arthur G. (Jerry) and Beatrice DeBell Memorial Scholarship
    Byron Cocilovo, nominated by Robert A. Norwood

    David H. Cushing Endowed Scholarship
    Benjamin Cromey

    Dean’s Funds for Excellence Scholarship
    Sawyer Campbell
    Jessica Doehrmann
    Wanglei Han
    John Nehls
    Stefan O’Dougherty
    Yi-Hsin Ou
    Jay Voris

    Jack D. Gaskill Endowed Scholarship
    Nea Sample
    Patrick Thrasher

    James M. Palmer Endowed Scholarship
    Oybek Kholiqov

    John E. Greivenkamp Endowed Scholarship
    Caleb Pocock

    John Tipton Scholarship
    Lee Johnson
    Daniel Millstone
    Travis Sawyer
    Zachary Walker
    Kaitlyn Williams

    Kenneth E. and Michele L. Moore Endowed Scholarship
    Alexander Miles

    Marathay Family Endowed Undergraduate Scholarship
    Nirantha Balagopal

    Mary Jo Lake Memorial Fellowship
    Ashley Warren Valdez

    Outstanding Graduate Student
    Zachary Newman, nominated by Brian P. Anderson

    Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award
    presented in appreciation of John and Nicki Ross
    Victoria Chan, nominated by Masud Mansuripur

    Outstanding Undergraduate Student
    Hannah Grant, nominated by Robert A. Norwood

    Philip N. and Joan A. Slater Scholarship
    Antonio Lorenzo
    Zachary Newman

    Roland V. Shack Scholarship
    Ivan McCrea

    William L. Wolfe Family Endowed Scholarship
    Gregory Jacob
    John van der Laan

    Willis E. Lamb Jr. Endowed Scholarship
    Jessica Doehrmann

    Please see the online gallery for photographs of the ceremony.