Greivenkamp and Barton Candidates in SPIE Election

    Date Posted: 
    Thursday, June 11, 2015

    SPIE's 2015 election is open June 10 through Aug. 3.

    Portrait of John GreivenkampOn the slate for vice president are Maryellen Giger at the University of Chicago and our own John E. Greivenkamp. Greivenkamp, who received his Ph.D. from OSC in 1980, has served SPIE on the board of directors and several committees. Interviews with both candidates are available on the SPIE website.

    In SPIE's four-year presidential chain, candidates are elected as vice president and move on to president-elect, president and immediate past-president. OSC has a long, proud history of service in SPIE, with numerous faculty and alumni holding important advisory and governance roles. Currently, Glenn Boreman, Ph.D. 1984, serves as vice president and H. Philip Stahl, Ph.D. 1985, serves as immediate past president.

    Portrait of Jennifer BartonUp for the board of directors is Jennifer K. Barton, UA associate vice president for research and professor of biomedical engineering, electrical and computer engineering, optical sciences, agricultural and biosystems engineering and the BIO5 Institute. SPIE directors serve three-year terms.

    Eligible members will receive an email from SPIE with voting instructions. We encourage you to consider your options, and the strong qualifications of both Greivenkamp and Barton, as you cast your ballot.