Greivenkamp and Wick Candidates in SPIE Election

    Date Posted: 
    Wednesday, May 24, 2017

    SPIE's 2017 election is open June 12 through July 26. On the slate for vice president are Peter Hartmann from Schott AG in Germany and our own John E. Greivenkamp

    John Greivenkamp up for VP of SPIEGreivenkamp received his Ph.D. from OSC in 1980, and has been a professor since 1991. In addition to two terms on the SPIE board of directors, he has served on various SPIE leadership committees. 

    In SPIE's four-year presidential chain, candidates are elected as vice president and move on to president-elect, president and immediate past-president. OSC has a long, proud history of service in SPIE, with numerous faculty and alumni holding important advisory and governance roles. Currently, Glenn Boreman, Ph.D. 1984, serves as president and Jim Oschmann, M.S. 1983 (2014 OSC Alumnus of the Year) serves as vice president.

    Up for the board of directors is OSC alumnus, David V. Wick, Ph.D. 1997. Wick is a Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff at Sandia National Labs. SPIE directors serve three-year terms.

    Eligible members will receive an email from SPIE with voting instructions. We encourage you to consider your options and the strong qualifications of both Greivenkamp and Wick as you cast your ballot. A few votes can make a difference.