Kevin P. Thompson Optical Design Innovator Award Receives Match

    Date Posted: 
    Thursday, December 14, 2017

    The Kevin P. Thompson Optical Design Innovator Award closes 31 December 2017 and has thus far raised $193,000 USD, with an end goal of $250,000 USD. In support of the award OSC Ph.D. Alumnus, Chris Koliopoulos, long-time friend of Kevin and former CEO of Zygo Corporation, agreed to partner with Dr. Jannick Rolland and the OSA Foundation by offering to match donations received in December up to $25,000 USD.

    The award was created in honor of Kevin P. Thompson, a graduate of the College of Optical Sciences. In 2015 the College recognized him as Alumnus of the Year in Optical Sciences. Read more about Kevin In Memoriam.

    Click here to make a donation.

    More About the Award

    The Kevin Thompson Optical Design Innovator Award recognizes contributions to optical engineering, lens design, or metrology at an early career stage. Candidates must be within 10 years of the completion of their highest degree earned in the year the award is presented. The inaugural award is expected in 2018.