Superlative Staff: 2018 Year-End Celebration

    Date Posted: 
    Tuesday, January 8, 2019

    Staff Recognition Program banner

    On December 6th outside of the Meinel building, the final staff recognition awards were presented after a fantastic meal during the OSC Holiday Party. Awards presented included the 4th Quarter Peer-to-Peer and the Employee of the Year.

    4th Quarter Peer-to-Peer

    Nominated by Rongguang Liang, the 4th Quarter Peer-to-Peer award was presented to Cindy Gardner, administrative associate for the College. Cindy received a plaque and $250, issued through payroll. 

    Rongguang says of Cindy:

    Graeme presented with the 4th Quarter Peer-to-Peer award by Luz Palomarez and Lucy Sandoval.

    Cindy has supported my group since I joined OSC in 2011. Her excellent support makes my job much easier. She always reminds me of the UA policies and deadlines, takes the mail to my office, and takes care of visitors. Cindy also reminds us to reserve the conference room for group meetings in the beginning of every semester.

    Employee of the Year

    All staff that have been previously recognized through a SPOT or Peer-to-Peer award are eligible for Staff Employee of the Year and Honorable Mention. To determine the awards, the committee has the difficult job of evaluating the content of all nominations, factoring in the number of Peer-to-Peer and SPOT awards received throughout the year, as well as the impact of the employees' daily performance.  

    Employee of the Year 2018 

    The Employee of the Year for 2018 award went to Ashley Bidegain, Information Technology Systems Manager for the college. Ashley was also the recipient of the 1st Quarter Peer-to-Peer award. Tom Koch, the dean for the College of Optical Sciences, presented Ashley with a beautiful glass award during the Holiday and Staff Appreciation party. He also received $1,000 for his commitment and dedication to the College of Optical Sciences.

    Congratulations from all of us, Ashley! 

    Honorable Mention

    Additionally, at the Holiday and Staff Appreciation Party, the Employee of the Year 2018 Honorable Mention was presented to Lindsay Loebig by Tom Koch. Lindsay had previously been a recipient of a Spot award in August 2018, and received a glass award as well as $500.

    A very big thanks and congratulations to all of the 2018 Staff Recognition winners for their commitment to ensuring that the College of Optical Sciences remains at the forefront of optics education. We look forward to highlighting and recognizing 2019's incredible OSC staff.

    For more information on the program, see the official Staff Recognition Program on our Staff page, under the Human Resources section.