Tyo Receives SPIE G.G. Stokes Award

    Date Posted: 
    Thursday, March 20, 2014

    Professor of optical sciences and electrical and computer engineering and chair of the Faculty Academic Steering Committee J. Scott Tyo has been named the 2014 winner of SPIE's G.G. Stokes Award, given annually for exceptional achievements in optical polarization.

    According to SPIE's official release (PDF), Tyo is being recognized "for his contributions to the theory of polarimeter optimization and the characterization and calibration of polarimeters, and to the understanding of microgrid polarimeter data processing." Peers call him an "essential figure" and "fireball" in the field, wherein "most modern thought ... is influenced by or derived" from his work.

    He is the second OSC faculty member to receive the award; professor Russell A. Chipman was similarly honored in 2007.