John B. Hayes and Jane C. Quale Graduate Student Endowed Scholarships in Optical Sciences 1, 2 & 3

John B. Hayes' interest in physics, astronomy and telescopes began early in life; he enjoyed building spectroscopes and telescopes, the largest of which was a 12.5-inch Newtonian-Cassegrain. His penchant for science propelled him to earn a B.S. degree in physics and astronomy and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in optics from the University of Arizona. 

After joining WYKO Corp. in 1985, John developed numerous interferometric, scanning probe microscopy and optical metrology products for the optical, data storage and semiconductor markets for 15 years. In 2001, John co-founded 4D Technology, an innovative developer of advanced high-speed, vibration-insensitive interferometers for the aerospace industry. 

Jane C. Quale earned a B.A. in political science from the University of Oregon and a Juris Doctorate in law from the University of San Francisco. In addition to a very successful law practice, she also devotes herself to various community projects. She was once president of the Tucson Waldorf Education Association board of trustees. 

John and Jane established three FoTO scholarship endowments to support graduate students as they pursue excellence with discoveries in light and optics.


This scholarship is open to a first-year graduate student at the College of Optical Sciences. In addition to academic excellence, applicant should demonstrate commitment to scholarship, involvement in extracurricular activities and interests beyond science and technology.  

2021-2022: Kian Milani, Jaclyn John, Amit Jha
2020-2021: Ryan Hamilton, Jacob Trzaska, and Clarissa DeLeon
2019-2020: Jaren Ashcraft, Natzem Lima, and Ravn Jenkins
2018-2019: Margarite LaBorde, Christian Pluchar, Lennon Reinhart
2017-2018: Sawyer Miller and Nathaniel Birrer
2016-2017: Tyler Spear and David Vega
2015-2016: Ian Arnold and Brian Goodell
2014-2015: Brian Redman