Optics Ambassadors

An optics ambassador is an enthusiastic, well-informed representative who contributes to a variety of events, serving as an official liaison between the college and its distinguished visitors.

Our Ambassadors

Stephanie Arouh

Degree Program: Ph.D. in Optical Sciences
sarouh@optics.arizona.edu
Student Directory Profile

Dawson Baker

Degree Program: Ph.D. in Optical Sciences
rbaker@optics.arizona.edu
Student Directory Profile

Colton Bigler

Degree Program: Ph.D. in Optical Sciences
cbigler@optics.arizona.edu
Student Directory Profile

Hometown: Windsor, CO
Colorado School of Mines
Languages: English, German

My research at the OSC deals with holographic applications to improve avionic heads-up display systems. I have worked on pupil expansion and image magnification processes to allow more functional viewing and projection systems in the cockpit. During future research efforts, I plan to focus on further improvement of the system, as well as exploring other research applications of holography. I have presented twice to our Industrial Affiliates Workshop and won the Student Optics Chapter's first annual Very Impressive Presenter speaker series. 

While a student at the OSC, I have become involved with the Ambassadors program and have worked as a mentor for REU students both summers during my graduate career. I have helped give tours of Meinel building and the Richard F. Carris Mirror Lab. One of my favorite outreach events, which the college puts on is the Laser Fun Day event where we invite the community to see what optics is and better understand the work we do. Outside of the OSC, I am heavily involved with the Graduate Christian Fellowship at the U of A, where I participate in bible studies, prayer groups, weekly games of Ultimate and a large group with worship and discussions about what living out our faith looks like in the context of grad school. I enjoy all kinds of games and really like to be engaged with good stories, whether through reading, watching, or telling. I have taken to making homemade ice cream when I have a bit of free time. 

Seth Erickson

Degree Program: Ph.D. in Optical Sciences
setherickson@optics.arizona.edu
Student Directory Profile

Emily Finan

Degree Program: Ph.D. in Optical Sciences
efinan@optics.arizona.edu
Student Directory Profile

Alexander Lin

Degree Program: Ph.D. in Optical Sciences
alin@optics.arizona.edu
Student Directory Profile

Jennifer Lumbres

Degree Program: Ph.D. in Optical Sciences
jlumbres@optics.arizona.edu
Student Directory Profile

Nicholas Lyons

Degree Program: Ph.D. in Optical Sciences
nlyons@email.arizona.edu
Student Directory Profile

Joshua P. McDonald

Degree Program: B.S. in OSE
jpmcd@email.arizona.edu
Student Directory Profile

Kerry Nierenberg

Degree Program: Ph.D. in Optical Sciences
kerry@optics.arizona.edu
Student Directory Profile

Andrew Rocha

Degree Program: Ph.D. in Optical Sciences
arocha@optics.arizona.edu
Student Directory Profile

Travis Sawyer

Degree Program: Ph.D. in Optical Sciences
tsawyer9226@email.arizona.edu
Student Directory Profile