OSC Colloquium: Dr. Jens Biegert

    Thursday, October 24, 2019 - 3:30pm - 5:00pm
    Meinel 307

    1630 E. University Blvd.

    3rd Floor Lobby area


    Open to campus and public.


    Speaker: Dr. Jens Biegert

    Title: Attosecond x-rays for ultrafast condensed phase physics

    Host: Jerry Moloney

    Visit our website for future lecture dates and speaker information: http://www.optics.arizona.edu/news-events/events/colloquium For a list of our archived lectures: http://www.optics.arizona.edu/news-events/events/colloquium/archive


    The development of intense mid-IR sources led to the generation of isolated attosecond pulses in the soft X-ray water window across the oxygen edge at 543 eV. These table top sources of coherent x-rays are powerful new tools that combine ultrafast temporal resolution with the soft X-ray’s element specificity to investigate electronic dynamics and their coupling with nuclei/lattice in real time. I will describe some of our sources that enable such resource and show first results in which we resolve the carrier dynamics in a quantum material in real time. These results provide first comprehensive insight into the dynamics in condensed matter, with the future possibility to address fundamental and long-standing questions such as phase transitions and superconductivity.

    Speaker Bio(s): 

    Jens Biegert received his PhD in 2001 with distinction from the Technical University Munich and his work was also awarded with the Allen Prize of the Optical Society (OSA). He went on to head a research group on ultrafast pulse generation and strong field physics during his Habilitation at ETH Zurich from 2001 until 2006. Since 2007 as tenured Professor at ICFO and ICREA professor of the Catalan Institution for Research and Advanced Studies, his research focus lies on the investigation of the real-time quantum dynamics of electrons and nuclei in atoms, molecules and solids. Jens Biegert is actively involved in the scientific community as author of the whitebook leading to the European Extreme Light Infrastructure (ELI), is elected member of the management board of Laserlab-Europe and Laserlab-Europe AISBL, chair elect of the Board of Meetings of the Optical Society (OSA), panel member of the European Research Council and the Volkswagen Foundation, and traveling lecturer of the Optical Society (OSA). He holds an appointment as Adjunct Professor at the University of New Mexico in the USA, is Associate Editor of APL Photonics, a fellow of the German Academic Scholarship Foundation, fellow of Optical Society of America, fellow of the American Physical Society and fellow of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. He is ERC Advanced Grant holder and was awarded the Bessel Prize of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.


    Refreshments 3:30pm

    Lecture @ 3:45pm - 5pm