Congratulations, Scholarship Recipients

    Date Posted: 
    Tuesday, September 12, 2017

    2017 OSC Scholarship Recipients

    On Friday, Sept. 8, the College hosted its annual Scholarship Awards program celebrating undergraduate and graduate students who were fortunate to receive such support for the upcoming academic year. Made possible from the generosity of donors, this year the College handed out a record 50 scholarship awards. 

    Delivering a very inspiring message was the program’s keynote speaker and OSC alumnus (M.S., 2015) Sean J. McCafferty, MD, FACS Ophthalmology and President/CEO of Intuor Technologies. In the Tucson community, Sean is widely known for his highly successful private practice in ophthalmology. Yet, there are many more people worldwide suffering from serious eye diseases, who are also benefiting from Sean's relentless drive to improve ophthalmic health with innovations in optics, mechanics and medicine.  

    View Sean’s presentation at the Awards program on OSC's YouTube Channel. Download the official Scholarship Awards program booklet (PDF), and don't forget to view the photos from the event in our photo gallery.

    FoTO Graduate Student Scholarships

    FoTO (Friends of Tucson Optics) endowments at the College of Optical Sciences hold a minimum $500,000 balance, and their scholarships are awarded to first-year optical sciences graduate students. The payout provides — in perpetuity — stipend support at about $20,000 annually, and the awards include tuition and fees.

    Graduate Student Fellowships

    The Dean's Fund for Excellence scholarships are made possible by the generous annual donations offered by the College of Optical Sciences alumni and friends. Awards are made to both undergraduate and graduate students, and selections are made by a committee designated by the Dean. In addition to academic excellence, the committee also considers commitment to the scholarship, involvement in extracurricular activities and interests beyond science and technology. The Dean gives final approval of the selected award recipient in accordance with the defined eligibility criteria.

    Dean's Fund for Excellence

    • Guanghao Chen
    • Weiyu Chen
    • Seyed Hosseini
    • Micah Mann
    • Khalid Omer
    • Lennon Reinhart
    • Lauren Schatz
    • Adriana Stohn
    • Karen Ward

    Undergraduate Student Scholarships

    An undergraduate  scholarship in Optical Sciences is awarded to exceptional students to further their education. Scholarships are awarded based upon the criteria that reflects the values and purposes of the donors who have established the award. 

    Undergraduate Research Award

    This award recognizes a University of Arizona optics undergraduate student whose research achievements demonstrate promise in advancing innovative applications of optics that improve quality of life or address societal challenges. The metrics for the award are Innovation, Exceptional Quality and External Validation.

    • Undergraduate Research Award (Nikolas Christian Syson)

    University of Arizona College of Optical Sciences Recruiting Scholarship

    This scholarship was established to aid the recruiting of an exceptionally talented undergraduate or M.S. student selected from a pool of local, national and international student applicants. The recipient must be a first-time student at the College of Optical Sciences and successfully meet all academic requirements to pursue a degree in optics. 

    • University of Arizona College of Optical Sciences Recruiting Scholarship (Chao-Hsiung Tseng)

    Congratulations to all of the recipients and a heartfelt "thank you" to all of our donors, who make this possible.