Greivenkamp Elected to SPIE Presidential Chain

    Date Posted: 
    Wednesday, August 16, 2017

    Professor John E. Greivenkamp elected to SPIE Presidential Chain

    SPIE president Glenn Boreman announced that OSC Professor John E. Greivenkamp was elected to the SPIE presidential chain. John will serve as vice president in 2018, president-elect in 2019, and president in 2020. The announcement came at the society's annual meeting, which took place in San Diego in early August. 

    Greivenkamp, an antique optics enthusiast and curator of the College of Optical Sciences' Museum of Optics, is SPIE's editor of the popular "field guide" series, and has taught optical engineering at OSC since 1991. John is a SPIE Fellow, OSA Fellow, and is the recipient of the 2017 SPIE Educator Award for his dedication to both formal and informal optics education, his passion for transferring his knowledge to the next generation of engineers and inspiring students of all descriptions to an appreciation of science.  

    "The winner of SPIE’s 2017 Educator Award being elected as vice-president, on the path to president in 2020, is an important reminder of the purpose of SPIE," says Eugene Arthurs, CEO of SPIE. "Our educational charity status is more than an IRS category. John Greivenkamp has long shown his passion for education, whether at the University of Arizona, in the decades of teaching short courses at SPIE events, or in his priorities when serving on the many SPIE committees. I am delighted that he will lead SPIE in its mission to share knowledge. We can’t have enough of education."

    John says, "It is a great honor to be elected as SPIE Vice President, and I pledge to do my best to help lead SPIE over the next several years. The College of Optical Sciences has a long history of serving SPIE in this fashion. I'm excited to join OSC leaders Robert R. Shannon, James C. Wyant, William L. Wolfe, Jack D. Gaskill and Eustace L. Dereniak, all who have served as SPIE President. Not to mention the numerous OSC alumni that have served in this capacity. It is wonderful to follow in this tradition of excellence."

    Congratulations from all of us at the College of Optical Sciences.