Greivenkamp President of SPIE 2020

    Date Posted: 
    Tuesday, January 14, 2020

    After serving as Vice President and President-Elect, Professor John Greivenkamp has begun his term as SPIE President. For the year of 2020, Greivenkamp will lead the Society as it continues to work towards its goals. According to the SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics, works to advance light-based technologies and serves 255,000 constituents from 183 countries.  The not-for-profit Society advances emerging technologies through interdisciplinary information exchange, continuing education, publications, and career and professional growth.

    Read more about the announcement of Greivenkamp's election.

    Greivenkamp joins OSC leaders who have served as SPIE president, including Robert R. ShannonJames C. WyantWilliam L. WolfeJack D. Gaskill and Eustace L. Dereniak. In addition, alumni James B. Breckinridge, H. Philip Stahl, Glen Boreman, and Jim Oschmann have served as President.  At the time of his election to the presidential chain Greivenkamp shared, "It is wonderful to follow in this tradition of excellence."

    Greivenkamp shares his optimism about the coming year, “I am excited and honored to begin my term as SPIE President.  This is a significant responsibility and I pledge to represent SPIE and its members and constituents to the best of my ability.”  

    Photo Credit: SPIE