OSC Faculty and Alumni Among SPIE Award Winners

    Date Posted: 
    Thursday, August 20, 2015

    The College of Optical Sciences is beaming with pride! Numerous OSC faculty and alumni received Society Awards at the 2015 SPIE Awards Banquet, which took place on Aug. 12, 2015 during the SPIE Optics + Photonics Conference in San Diego, California.

    The SPIE Educator Award was given to OSC adjunct professor and alumnus Virendra Mahajan (Ph.D., 1974). This award is presented in recognition of outstanding contributions to optics education by an SPIE instructor or an educator in the field.

    The SPIE Directors’ Award was presented to OSC alumni Jacobus (Jim) Oschmann (M.S., 1983), in recognition of his significant services of outstanding benefit to the Society. Jim is the college’s 2014 Alumnus of the Year and serves on the Development Board of Directors.

    OSC professor emeritus and alumnus Eustace L. Dereniak (M.S., 1970; Ph.D., 1976) was given the SPIE President’s Award. This honor recognizes unique and meritorious service of outstanding benefit to the Society and to the optics community. Eustace was awarded OSC’s Alumnus of the Year in 2013.