May 10 | The University of Arizona College of Optical Sciences Newsletter


    Congratulations Spring 2018 Grads!

    OSC Congratulates our Spring 2018 Graduates

    The College of Optical Sciences would like to wish all Spring 2018 graduates "good luck" and "great job." Graduating students walk the stage on Thursday, May 10 at the UA Student Union Memorial Center, South Ballroom.

    Read more

    Schmitz Scholarship for Aspiring Entrepreneurs Accepting Applications

    The Shirley G. Schmitz Foundation is currently accepting applications through June 16th to support students with an entrepreneurial drive. The non-profit corporation provides scholarships and leadership development programs for aspiring entrepreneurs who are students enrolled full-time in accredited universities and community colleges within Arizona that can lead to eventually forming a business. The first year scholarship is $2,000 paid directly to the recipient to support the student's education.

    Read more

    Paul F. Forman Team Engineering Excellence Award Accepting Applications

    Nominations are currently being accepted for The Optical Society’s Paul F. Forman Team Engineering Excellence Award. This award recognizes technical achievements such as product engineering, process and software development, and patent development, as well as contributions to society such as engineering education, publication and management, and furthering public appreciation of optical engineering. Team nominations are due July 10, 2018. 

    Read more

    Upcoming Events

    2018 OSC Pre-Commencement Ceremony

    May 10, 2 – 5:30 p.m., Student Union Memorial Center – South Ballroom

    Read more

    Special Presentation: Christoph J. Baranec

    May 16, 3 p.m., Franken Conference Room (Meinel 821)

    Read more

    Memorial Day

    May 28

    Faculty Distinctions

    Harrison H. and Catherine C. Barrett Endowed Chair in Optical Sciences for Cancer Imaging Announced

    The College of Optical Sciences is pleased to announce a very generous $1million gift commitment to establish the Harrison H. and Catherine C. Barrett Endowed Chair in Optical Sciences for Cancer Imaging. Gifted by the chair’s namesake, Dr. and Mrs. Harry and Cathy Barrett, the endowment will support a faculty position in the College of Optical Sciences (OSC) with a membership in the University of Arizona Cancer Center (UACC). See the official press release.

    Contracts & Grants

    Quantum Communications (Qu-COMMS) Study

    Principal Investigators: Saikat Guha & Zheshen Zhang

    Read more

    Students in the Spotlight

    2018 Outstanding Students

    Each spring, the College of Optical Sciences recognizes incredible students, as nominated by professors and selected by a faculty committee. We would like to congratulate Liliana Ruiz Diaz, Xingzhou Tu, Edward LaVilla, Shu Yang, and Ryan Hamilton as the 2017-2018 Outstanding Students of the Year.

    Read more

    OSC Students Recognized at Engineering Design Day

    The College of Optical Sciences was well represented by Senior OSC students at Engineering Design Day 2018! A total of fifteen projects included OSC senior students. Out of those projects, eight projects took home prizes (listed below). 

    Read more

    OSC Students Take Home SPIE Optical Design Competition Awards

    Two OSC students from Professor Hong Hua's labs participated in and were awarded prizes during SPIE's Optical Design Competition at Photonics Europe. 

    Read more

    OSC Student Awarded Goldwater Scholarship

    The 2018 Awardees of the Goldwater Scholarship have been officially announced. Among the recipients is the College of Optical Sciences very own Adriana Mitchell for her project "Polar Plume Dynamics of the Indonesian 2016 Total Solar Eclipse" under the mentorship of Dr. Matt Penn and Professor Vishnu Reddy.

    Read more

    Industrial Affiliates Updates

    Wavefront Joins Industrial Affiliates

    Wavefront Research Incorporated joined OSC's Industrial Affiliates program as an Associate Partner member. Welcome, Wavefront!

    Watts Happening

    Seeking Faculty Nominations: 2018 Undergraduate Research Innovation Award

    Faculty members are encouraged to nominate undergraduate students for the Undergraduate Research Innovation Award in Optics. The award recognizes a University of Arizona optics undergraduate whose research achievements demonstrate promise in advancing innovative applications of optics that improve quality of life or address societal changes. Don't delay! The deadline for nominations is Aug., 20, 2018. Send in your nomination today to John Koshel.

    Read more

    Employment Opportunities

    Industrial Affiliates

    Non-Industrial Affiliates