Sept. 27 | The University of Arizona College of Optical Sciences Newsletter


    UA to Honor James W. Mayo as 2018 Alumnus of the Year in Optical Sciences

    James W. Mayo III to be the 2018 OSC Alumnus of the Year in Optical Sciences

    The University of Arizona Alumni Association has announced that James W. Mayo III, Chief Optics Engineer, Tau Technologies LLC (M.S. in Optical Sciences, 1968), has been selected as the 2018 Alumnus of the Year for the College of Optical Sciences.

    Read more

    Reflections, Special Birthday Edition: Stephen Jacobs

    Welcome to Reflections, a series of biographies featuring OSC Emeritus faculty, written by Tammy Orr. This month, we bring you a special Happy Birthday edition for Stephen Jacobs.

    Read more

    ACMS30: Mathematical modeling and computational methods for multiscale problems in science and engineering

    Come and enjoy the ACMS30, a conference celebrating 30 years of the Arizona Center for Mathematical Sciences (ACMS). A distinguished list of invited speakers, mathematicians and scientists from many disciplines will give talks on topics where ACMS has had a strong impact.

    Read more

    Upcoming Events

    OSC Colloquium: Eugene Arthurs

    Sept. 27, 3:30-5 p.m. - Meinel 307

    Read more

    OSC Colloquium: Hari Krovi

    Oct. 4, 3:30-5 p.m. - Meinel 307

    Read more

    Industrial Affiliates Corporate Showcase & Career Fair

    Oct. 8, 3-8:00 p.m., University of Arizona Student Union, Grand Ballroom

    Read more

    Industrial Affiliates Workshop

    Oct. 9-10, Meinel Building

    Read more

    OSC Colloquium: Garrett D. Cole

    Oct. 11, 3:30-5 p.m. - Meinel 307

    Read more

    OSC Colloquium: Erik Novak

    Oct. 25, 3:30-5 p.m. - Meinel 307

    Read more

    OSC Alumni of the Year 2018

    Oct. 26, 2:30-5:00 p.m., Student Union Grand Ballroom South

    Read more

    Media Mentions

    Faculty Distinctions

    SPIE Announces New Award in Honor of Harrison H. Barrett

    The International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE) has announced a new award in honor of OSC Professor Harrison H. Barrett.

    Read more

    Technology Achievement Award Renamed for the Meinels

    The SPIE Technology Achievement Award has been renamed as the SPIE Aden and Marjorie Meinel Technology Achievement Award.

    Read more

    Contracts & Grants

    Low-Cost Mobile Oral Cancer Screening for Low Resource Setting

    Principal Investigator: Rongguang Liang
    Non-OSC Principal Investigator: Jeffrey Rodriguez (ECE)

    Read more

    Smartphone Confocal Endoscopy for Detecting Cervical Precancer

    Principal Investigator(s): Dongkyun "DK" Kang, Arthur Gmitro

    Read more

    Industrial Affiliates Updates

    Elbit Systems of America Joins IA Program

    We would like to extend a warm welcome to Elbit Systems of America, which joins OSC's Industrial Affiliates program as an Associate partner. Elbit is a global source of innovative, technology based systems for diverse defense and commercial applications. Welcome!

    Superlative Staff

    Superlative Staff: August SPOT & 3rd Quarter Peer to Peer

    OSC Staff Recognition Program

    Congratulations to OSC's latest Staff Recognition Award winners! Lindsay Loebig is our August SPOT Award recipient, while Trin Riojas receives the 3rd Quarter Peer-to-Peer award. 

    Read more

    Employment Opportunities