Harrison H. Barrett Graduate Student Scholarship in Optical Sciences and Medical Imaging

Harrison H. (Harry) Barrett is considered an icon in the theory and application of image science. His research on the underlying physics and mathematics of image quality assessment has revolutionized the evaluation of medical imaging systems.

Harry joined the University of Arizona faculty in 1974 and was named a Regents' Professor in 1990. He has appointments in the College of Optical Sciences, the department of medical imaging, the Arizona Cancer Center and the Programs in Biomedical Engineering and Applied Mathematics, and he serves as the director of the UA Center for Gamma-Ray Imaging. 

He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a fellow of the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering, the American Physical Society, IEEE and the Optical Society (OSA). Among his many professional honors are a Humboldt Prize, the IEEE Medal for Innovations in Healthcare Technology, the OSA C.E.K. Mees Medal and the SPIE Gold Medal of the Society. With Kyle J. Myers, he co-authored Foundations of Image Science, for which they received the OSA/SPIE J.W. Goodman Book Writing Award. He holds 23 U.S. patents.

A prolific mentor, Harry has advised 60 Ph.D. dissertations, 20 master's theses and 10 postdoctoral fellowships throughout his 40 years of teaching. 

This scholarship was founded by colleagues and former students of Harrison H. Barrett as their tribute to his profound commitment for advancing science and technology through interdisciplinary research, education and innovation – and for the many ways he has enriched their lives.

Scholarship donors


The Harrison H. Barrett Scholarship is open to first-year Ph.D. students whose research focuses on the application of optical technologies in areas of medical imaging. In addition to academic excellence, applicants should demonstrate commitment to scholarship, involvement in extracurricular activities in science and technology and community interests.



Christopher Salinas

Dominique Galvez

Micaehla May

Chiao Huang

Yifan Hong

Garrett Hinton

  • Kelsea Cronin
  • Shelbi Jenkins