James Mayo Family Graduate Student Scholarship in Optical Sciences

The James Mayo Family Graduate Student Scholarship in Optical Sciences was established by James W. Mayo III (Jim) in honor of his family. Jim assisted the United States Air Force in its role in the founding of The Optical Science Center (OSC) at the University of Arizona in the 1960s. In 1968, he became the first OSC graduate, earning an M.S. in Optical Sciences. He worked closely with OSC Founder Dr. Aden Meinel during this period and later with OSC Directors, Dr. Bob Shannon and Dr. James Wyant. 

Jim’s parents, James W. Mayo Jr. and Mary Viola Arrington Mayo, spouse, Linda Murphy Mayo, and grandmother Elsie Mae Arrington were all tireless lifetime supporters of advanced education.  

Jim retired from the USAF in 1985 as Head of the Optics and Beam Control Division, Air Force Research Laboratory, Albuquerque, NM. After retirement, he worked for Logicon RDA as Head, Opto-mechanical Engineering Department and as Department Head and Airborne Laser Project Chief Scientist for Northrop Grumman and TASC in Albuquerque. He was employed as Chief Optics Engineer for Tau Technologies LLC in Albuquerque when this scholarship was established.


The Mayo Family Scholarship is open to students applying for their first year of graduate school in the College of Optical Sciences who are academically qualified to pursue their graduate degree with distinction as determined by the College of Optical Sciences Graduate Admissions Committee. The successful candidate is required to maintain full-time student status as determined by the academic programs office at the College. In addition to demonstrating academic excellence, applicants should display a commitment to scholarship which also includes involvement in extracurricular activities and other interests beyond science and technology.​​​​


Top: James W. Mayo III and Linda Murphy Mayo
Bottom Left: James W. Mayo Jr. and Mary Viola Arrington Mayo
Bottom Right: Elsie Mae Arrington and Mary Viola Arrington


Harsha Pradeep

Itay Ozer

Xianyue Deng

Mayank Mishra

Weilin Liu

Christopher Nguyen

Sifang Cui