Willis E. Lamb Jr. Graduate Student Endowed Scholarship in Optical Sciences 1 & 2

Willis Lamb

Nobel Laureate and University of Arizona Regents’ Professor of physics and optical sciences, Professor Emeritus Willis E. Lamb Jr. received a Nobel Prize in 1955 for his experimental work on the fine structure of the hydrogen atom and discovery of a phenomenon called the Lamb shift.  His discovery revolutionized the quantum theory of matter and led physicists to rethink the basic concepts behind the application of quantum theory to electromagnetism. His work became one of the foundations of quantum electrodynamics, a key aspect of modern elementary particle physics.  Dr. Lamb joined the Optical Sciences Center in 1974 and retired in 2002.  

Willis and friends established these two scholarships as a legacy to all who pursue their passions and endeavors to discover great things. In addition to Willis, leading donors to these endowments are Murray and Kamela Sargent III and Elsie Wattson-Lamb.


The Willis E. Lamb Jr. Scholarship in Optical Sciences are open to Ph.D. students applying to their first year of graduate school. The award will cover the student’s academic year stipend, tuition, University fees and health insurance, and may include partial funding for summer research.


Jake Freedman

  • Charlie Chisholm
  • Ruilin You

  • John McCauley
  • Arya Fatehi

  • Charles Condos
  • Jon Pajaud
  • Kseniia Oreshinka

  • William Horrocks
  • Kylan Jersey

  • Mitul Dey Chowdhury
  • Haowei Shi

  • Eric Reichel
  • Seth Erickson

  • Senthilnathan Lingasamy
  • Ryan Luder

  • Andrew Schaffer
  • Shu Yang

  • Samuel Nerenberg
  • Liliana Ruiz Diaz

  • Jessica Doehrmann
  • Alexander Lin

  • Jessica Doehrmann


  • Amber Young